Poetry for the Soul

A few weeks ago I was reading on Kai’s place about a really special poem that his mamma had written in his memory. She found this poet at a local craft fair, and after reading what she found for her son I asked for the poet’s info, which she kindly passed on to me.

I contacted Silvi and told her my story. I gave her my blog address and asked her to write something- anything that came to mind about living life without my youngest child.

This week I went to my mailbox and found this:

And so it began. I cried as I read her words- some of them my own echoed back to me through a thick lens of grief. It was beautiful, haunting, calming and connecting all at the same time. Silvi gave me a precious gift in her work- one that I will cherish forever. She enclosed a note to me as well, telling me of how she was moved by his story and about how she will think of us often when she finds herself surrounded by the fog.

It is an amazing thing for a bereaved mother to see her child’s written name, and to know that his legacy has been shared with another. It is a slice of light to know that he has been thought of- even if only for a moment- by someone neither of us had ever had the pleasure of meeting. It goes without saying that some people have a talent, and that the greatest gift they can leave upon this world is sharing that talent with others- in good times and in bad. Love and light Silvi… thank you so very much.

3 responses to “Poetry for the Soul”

  1. Such a talent – It is truly breath taking, a treasure and another memory of your precious Cullen
    Beautiful…

  2. That’s pretty amazing! How wonderful that you were able to contact her and be blessed with this gift!

  3. Leslie, This is truly a very touching poem. Silvi has captured well the grief and love you carry for your sweet Cullen. I am glad to have found her unexpectedly on that faithful day and to have been able to share her info with you. These unexpected connections, they’re a treasure in themselves, isn’t it? I am also moved that she’s able to give you comfort through her talent for words. It’s a wonderful gift. Thinking of you and wishing you love and peace, dear mama. ❤

Leave a comment